Sporting great set to receive honorary doctorates

Honorary doctorates are to be presented by DCU to Sean Kelly, Brian O’ Driscoll and Katie Taylor in recognition of their achievements.

The three are to be conferred with Doctorates of Philosophy at a ceremony in The Helix next Wednesday, November 13th.

Brian O’ Driscoll has been described by many pundits as a ‘once in a lifetime’ rugby player. He is the second most-capped player in rugby union history with 125 caps for Ireland.

The Leinster and Ireland international captained Ireland to a Six Nations Grand Slam in 2009 (Ireland’s first in 61 years) and has won four Triple Crowns. He has also been successful with his province and has won the Heineken Cup three times with Leinster.

Katie Taylor is the current Irish, European, World and Olympic Champion in the lightweight division. She began making boxing history when, aged only 15, she was part of the first ever officially-sanctioned women’s bout to be held in Ireland.

At 17 she became the first Irish woman to win a gold medal at the Senior European Boxing Championships. During last year’s London Games she became the first Irish athlete to win a gold medal in twenty years by defeating Russian Sofya Ochigava.

Previous sporting recipients of DCU honorary doctorates include world-renowned athletics coach, Brother Colm O’Connell.

Ian Coyne

Image Credit: FlickrViaCreativeCommons

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *