Student’s Union hosts inaugural SU Awards ceremony

DCU’s first ever Student Union Awards were held on Tuesday April 29 to acknowledge the hard work of students throughout the year beyond clubs and societies.

The awards were created, according to Welfare Officer Lorna Finnegan, to celebrate the hardworking students involved as class reps and those running SU campaigns and thank them for their help and co-operation.

“We feel class reps and others alike put a lot of work into the running of SU campaigns and events throughout the year and we want to give them the thanks they deserve!”

Former CS student and singer/comedian Abandonman provided the entertainment for the night.

Awards were be given to students who gave the most outstanding contribution to many aspects of the Students’ Union, including the Electoral committee, Class Rep Council, Media Crew, Welfare working group and many more.

Categories included Class Rep of the Year for every school along with Faculty Rep of the Year, Staff Member of the Year, both academic and non-academic as nominated by students, specific awards for members of the DCU Media Crew, acknowledgements to the Welfare working group and ENTS Crew and Outstanding Contribution to Student Life.

Twenty-four class reps received awards on the night including Shauna Kilbride (BNCG), who won overall Class Rep of the Year. Anni Hayes secured the Overall Media Crew Member of the Year whist Steve Conlon won the award for Contribution to student life by a staff member.

Nominations to the categories were made by the 3 sabbatical officers and members of the Office of Student Life and were discussed by the SU

Damien McEvoy was the presenter along with a couple of special guests.

Finnegan hopes that the Student Union Awards will continue on to be an annual event as it “will encourage students to get involved with different aspects of student life as we are highlighting the hard work they have done throughout the year.”

Leandro Pondoc

Full list of winners

Class Reps of the Year

Computer and Engineering – Marianne Galpo (CAM2)
School of Computing – Jessica McGrath (CASE2)
Electronic Engineering – Avril Hayden (DME2)
Mechanical and Manufacturing – Ciarán Gibney (BMED2)

Business Class Rep of the Year – Anastasia Dolan (AF2)

Business School Class Rep Awards – Niall Behan (AF1), Jack Butterly (EBF1), Rowan Copeland (MINT1), Claire Behan (MSBM) and Thomas Whelan (AMPS2)

Humanities Class Rep of the Year – David Luke Matthews (CS1)

Applied Language and Intercultural Studies – Ronan Coppinger (ALIS2)
Communications – Naoise McHugh (MMA1)
Education Studies – Melanie Murphy (ES3)
Law and Government – Paula Cassidy (BCL3)
Fiontar – Barra Ó Scannláin (BAJH1)

Science and Health Class Rep of the Year – Eolann Kitteringham (AC4)

Biotechnology – Ian Martin (GCB3)
Health and Human Performance – Patriona Bolger (PEB3)
Chemical Sciences – Emma Gibbons (AS4)
Mathematical Science – Claire Mullan (ACM1)
Physical Sciences – Charlie El Baba (CES1)
Nursing & Human Sciences – Sarah Jennings (BPY1)

Overall Class Rep of the Year – Shauna Kilbride (BNCG3)

Electoral Committee of the Year

Kirills Sloka & Eoin Magner

Media Crew Member of the Year

Overall – Anni Hayes
Video – Aidan Broletti
Design – Sam Pearson
Photo – James MacInerney

Contribution to Student Life by a Staff Member

Steven Conlon

Welfare Working Group Member of the Year

Fionnuala Moran

Ents Crew Member of the Year

Conor Palin Stewart

Outstanding Contribution to Student Life

Lorna Dennehy
Rachel Byrne
Catherine Conneely
Sean Rooney
Sean Cassidy
Rónán Ó Dálaigh
Allan Stevenson
Eolann Kitteringham
Mariane Galpo

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *