Fresher hurlers beaten by CIT in final

Fresher A hurling final

Cork Institute of Technology IT 1-13
DCU 0-13

DCU were beaten in the All-Ireland Fresher Hurling final by Cork Institute of Technology in the Cork College’s sports grounds on Thursday, March 4th.

The Leesiders ran out winners on a scoreline of 1-13 to 0-13 points, holding off a late push from DCU to lift the trophy.

Having beaten Waterford Institute of Technology in the semi-final and University College Cork in the quarters the Northsiders were unable to beat another Munster college and win the competition.

DCU were beaten in the league final by Limerick Institute of Technology earlier in the college year and would have been optimistic of winning the final this time around after opening the game with two unanswered points.

The home team struck back however with a goal and two points in quick succession to open up a three point lead with 15 minutes played, a lead they didn’t relinquish for the rest of the game, the goal coming from Liam O’Keefe who went on to score 1-7.
Gary Tynan, Aaron Maddock and a great score from Harry O’Connor kept DCU in touch with the Leesiders. CIT went in at halftime with a three point lead, 1-6 to 0-6 the score.

DCU were backed by a strong wind in the second half but it was CIT who began the half the stronger opening scoring four points in the first ten minutes compared to the one point Gary Tynan added to the DCU tally.

DCU were brought to extra time in their quarter-final win over UCC and left it late to overcome WIT in the semis by two points so when a Gary Tynan brace brought the deficit back to four points the Glasnevin college looked primed to come out on top.

Points from Maddock and Harry O’Connor brought the lead down to just two points with five minutes to play but Eoin Roche’s men were unable to bridge the gap as CIT scored the final point of the game to run out three point winners.

This was the DCU fresher hurlers second final defeat of the year and despite a brave effort they were unable to match their Gaelic football counterparts who won the Fresher A title at Croke Park earlier this month.

DCU: Robbie Gillen; Conor McSweeney, Sean McCaw, Darragh Brennan; Aaron Maddock(0-02), Conor Delaney, Ciarán Brady; Martin Kelly, Cathal Doran; Jason Byrne(0-03, 2fs), Liam Fahey(0-01), Gary Tynan(0-04, 1f); Harry O’Connor(0-03), Donncha O’Connor, Eoghan Conroy.
Subs used: Sean Hickey, Matthew Joyce, Sean Quinn, Aaron Murphy.

CIT: Patrick Collins; Kevin Galvin, Daragh Fanning, Diarmuid Feeney; Eoin Healy, Conor Prunty, John Buckley; Conor Browne, Ronan Heffernan(0-01); Andy Molumby(0-02), Kevin Duggan, Shane Cummins(0-01); Robert Long(0-02), Paul Geary, Liam O’Keefe(1-07, 6fs).
Subs used: John Good, Billy Lyons.

Cormac O’Shea

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *