Sport in brief

21 February 2015; DCU manager Niall Moyna. Sigerson Cup Final, UCC v DCU. The Mardyke, Cork. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

Moyna returns

DCU Gaelic football manager Niall Moyna has decided to stay on with the 2015 Sigerson Cup winners having initially decided to call it a day, just hours after their after defeat in the 2016 final. This season will be Moyna’s 15th at the helm of the college’s senior men’s Gaelic football team.

“I just thought it needs a change,” said Moyna after last year’s Sigerson Cup final loss.

“This is maybe the fifth or sixth team I’ve built. We won the Freshers League and Championship this year, so there’s a great group of players coming along. I think we have a good enough team to win next year. I can let someone else take them along.”

Moyna ultimately decided to resume his role as bainisteoir, despite his perceived reluctance to do so.

Weir remains

DCU Hurling manager Nick Weir has decided to stay on for another season with the college’s senior men’s hurling team, indicating to players that he’d make his decision over the summer as to whether he would stay on or not for this season.

DCU slumped out of last season’s Fitzgibbon Cup after group stage losses to both Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) and IT Carlow, as well a home draw with St. Patrick’s College, but Weir is now set to take charge for another season after last year’s winless campaign.

Weir took over at the start of the 2014 season but could not be reached for comment as he heads into his third season in Glasnevin.

21 DCU students in All-Ireland Football Final

A total of 21 students from the college, past or present, were in the squads for last Sunday’s pulsating All-Ireland Senior Football Final which saw Dublin and Mayo play out a heart-racing draw in front of a sold out Croke Park.

DCU were well represented with former/current students Stephen Cluxton, Michael Savage, Jonny Cooper, John Small, Paul Flynn, Denis Bastick, Bernard Brogan, James McCarthy, Dean Rock, Paddy Andrews, Conor McHugh, Cormac Costello, Ciaran Kilkenny and Shane Carthy on the Dublin side, while Diarmuid O’Connor, Michael Hall, Conor Loftus, Patrick Durcan, Brian Reape, Rob Hennelly and Cillian O’Connor formed Mayo’s DCU contingent.

Cillian O’Connor’s last second point ensured that both sides will meet again this Saturday as Mayo try to end their 65-year All-Ireland drought.

Streimikyte Storms To National Record

DCU student Greta Streimikyte stormed to a national record at the 2016 Paralympics as Streimikyte ran 4:51.75 to qualify for the T13 1500m final in Rio de Janeiro.

Born in Lithuania but living in Dublin for five years, Streimikyte won a bronze medal at the 2016 Paralympics running a 4:54.25 to secure the Bronze medal.

Streimikyte said in an interview with RTÉ Sport earlier month that it took a lot of effort and perseverance to get to the Paralympics but that she was honoured and very happy to represent a hugely successful Team Ireland at the games.

DCU To Play A Big Role In LGFA All-Ireland Final

DCU will played a big role in the upcoming LGFA All-Ireland Finals *on Sunday* in Croke Park, with participants in each of the three games; Junior, Intermediate and Senior.

In the senior decider, current DCU students Emer Ní Éafa, Siobhán Woods, Emma Colgan, Dee Murphy, Leah Caffrey, Muireaan Ní Scanaill; graduates Fiona Hudson, Niamh McEvoy (member of Dublin Senior Management team), Sinéad Finnegan, Lyndsey Davey and Ciara Ruddy as well as Jamie Costello (Dublin Senior Management team and manager of DCU/Dochas Éireann Giles Cup team) ****will be aiming to capture their first All-Ireland crown since 2010***. The Dubs face a Cork side chasing their sixth title in a row.

Jack O’Toole

Image credit: Sportsfile

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *