Strong Smedia representation from DCU

By Shirley Donlon

A total of eighteen students from DCU have been nominated for this year’s National Student Media Awards. 

This year’s Smedia awards, which recognize student’s talent in media, marks the 17th edition of the annual event.

Last year, DCU took home one award. The College View’s current Irish Editor, Cal O Donnabhain won Iriseoireacht tri Ghaeilge (Journalism through Irish).

This year a total of eighteen different students from both The College View and DCU’s Media Production Society have been nominated for awards.

Editor-in-Chief of The College View, Aaron Gallagher, was nominated for Editor of the Year, Journalist of the Year in National Press, alongside Hayley Halpin and Sports Writer of the Year, alongside Jack O’Toole.

Talking to The College View, about this year’s nominations, Aaron said: “we received a lot more [nominations] than we probably would’ve expected,  but it is great to see everyone on the team getting rewarded for their hard work.”

“We’re nominated for newspaper of the year but also for radio and it is our first year doing podcasts,  so that is great”, he said.

Former Features Editor and newly appointed Editor-in-Chief of The College View, Shauna Bowers, was nominated for Science Education Writer of the Year as well as Features Writer of the Year in News and Current Affairs, alongside Orla O’ Driscoll.

Other nominees include Aodán MacOireachtaigh, who was nominated for Iriseoireacht Trí Ghaeilge, Bríon Hoban who was nominated for Blog/Vlog of the Year and Hannah Kingston for short story of the year.

In the Radio Journalist of the Year category both Stephen Murphy and Daniel O’Connor of DCUfm were nominated and nominated for TV Production of the Year was a DCUtv News package made by Shirley Donlon, Ciara Moran and Aaron McElroy.

The College View was nominated for its Budget Special 2017 in Radio Production of the Year as well as for Newspaper of the Year.

The awards will take place on Thursday, April 6th, in the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Shirley Donlon