Christine Farrell wins election for DCUSU President

Brendan Fernando Kelly Palenque

The two DCUSU presidents, Vito and Christine

Christine Farrell has won the DCU Students’ Union (SU) presidency election with 2,147 votes on March 7th.

Farrell will be the SU President for the 2019/2020 academic year after beating her competitor Adam Healy – who got 1,864 votes. Only 123 people voted to re-open nominations.

In her winning speech, she said: “I just wanted to say thank you to absolutely everyone who voted for me”. When asked for a comment by The College View, the president-elect said she was “happy”.

Meanwhile, two current SU Vice Presidents (VP) were re-elected for the same positions. Aisling Fagan and Callaghan Commons were re-elected as VP for Welfare & Equality and VP for Academic Affairs respectively.

Fagan was in a three-way race with Cian Conroy and Cindee Luna Chin. No candidate reached the 1,485 vote quota to win in the first round.

Votes cast for Luna Chin and to re-open nominations were redistributed between Fagan and Conroy. Ultimately, Fagan won in the second round with 1,439 votes.

Fagan said: “The other two candidates have been phenomenal. It was a very tight race and just congratulations to them for running absolutely phenomenal campaigns but I really am delighted to be here for another year.”

Commons won against Ailish Keating after receiving 1,818 votes compared to Keating’s 857.

Two candidates also ran for VP for Engagement & Development – Katie Fay and Helen Wade. Fay won with 1,419 votes.

She told The College View: “I’m nearly crying… this is something I’ve wanted to do for two years and I am just over the moon that DCU students elected me to do this job for them.”

The only full-time candidate who ran uncontested was Olivia Forde. She won the VP for Education & Placement position with 2,101 votes.

She said: “I’m delighted… I know it’s only a solo race so I was a bit surprised at the amount of people that did vote.”

As for part-time officers, Irish Language Officer, Sorcha Ní Chonghaile was re-elected, while newcomers David Martin and Mark McGee won the race to become Clubs Officer and Societies Officer respectively.

The Faculty Representatives who won were: Hazel Byrne (Business School), Josh Malone (Engineering & Computing), Sania Amjad (Science & Health), Patrick Rogers (Postgraduate), Caoimhe O’Carroll (Humanities & Social Sciences) and Sean Smyth (Institute of Education).

Results from the two referenda were also supposed to be announced, but they were not after voting closed for both of them an hour earlier than intended. It is unknown how or why this occurred.

The College View asked Democracy & Development Officer, Podge Sheehan, when the results would come out and he said: “I have no information on that at the minute, but as soon as I do I’ll be disseminating that”.

Chair of Students for Justice in Palestine society, Stephanie O’Toole said that the referendum for the SU to support the decimalisation of drugs did not meet its vote quota.

However, the referendum to mandate the SU to support the Boycott, Divestment & Sanction movement did reach its quota. O’Toole doesn’t know the results of the referendum, and she said Sheehan told her: “For the integrity of the referenda, we can’t tell you anything.”

Brendan Fernando Kelly Palenque

Image Credit: Sonja Tutty