DCU Dóchas Éireann advance to Sigerson semi-final

Seán McGoey at St. Clare's

DCU Dóchas Éireann - Sigerson Cup Quarter-Final

DCU Dóchas Éireann 2-12 MTU Cork 0-09

DCU Dóchas Éireann advanced to the semi-final of the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup with a nine-point win over MTU Cork.

Second half goals from Jack Bryant and Lorcan O’Dell helped the Dublin college exert control over a spirited MTU Cork.

It was the Munster side who landed the first blow with Ryan O’Donovan scoring a close range free to
open his account. Playing with a strong breeze, DCU reeled off 5 points in a row, a free from Shane Walsh and a score from play from the excellent Alex Beirne either side of three points from the accurate Matthew Costello.

Ryan O‘Donovan and Costello then traded scores from placed balls before David Buckley also got a
score from an MTU free.

MTU relied heavily on frees but O’Donovan and Buckley did enough to keep them in touch as the sides entered the break with DCU leading 0-7 to 0-5.

DCU began the second half with Conor Corbett dragging a shot for goal wide but Paddy Christie’s men weren’t to be denied as Jack Bryant found the back of the net following good work from Shane
O’Donnell. Paudie Hughes and Alex Beirne showed extremely well for DCU.

Dublin star O’Dell was introduced after forty minutes for the lively Keelin McGann and it wasn’t long before his impact was felt. O’Dell found himself on the end of nice interplay from O’Donnell and Corbett before he finished to the net to put the result beyond doubt.

As both sides emptied the benches the game began to fizzle out but Shane Walsh tacked on another
score before David O’Hanlon made an eye catching save from Kanturk’s Alan Walsh to keep his clean sheet intact and ensure his side’s safe passage to the final four.

DCU Dóchas Éireann: David O’Hanlon (Dublin), Tomas Crean (Roscommon), Paudie Hughes (Wexford), Jamie Grant (Donegal), Alex Beirne (Kildare), PJ Masterson (Longford), Mark Cully (Kildare), Bill Carroll (Offaly), Matthew Costello (Meath), Shane O’Donnell (Donegal), Shane Walsh (Meath), Keelin McGann (Longford), Jack Bryant (Offaly), Conor Corbett (Cork), Seán Jones (Monaghan).

Subs: Eoghan Smith (Sligo) for Jones,11; Kevin Quinn (Wicklow) for Costello, 35; Lorcan O’Dell (Dublin) for McGann, 41; Seán Fitzgerald (Galway) for Cully, 54; Ross O Mearlaigh (Donegal) for Walsh, 57.

MTU Cork: Kieran Twomey (Cork), Sean Andrews (Cork), Sean Meehan (Cork), Tommy Walsh (Cork), Joe Cooper (Cork), Paul Ring (Cork), Rory Maguire (Cork), Colm O’Shea (Cork), Liam Smith (Kerry), Aaron O’Shea (Kerry), Jack Cahalane (Cork), David Buckley (Cork), Alan Walsh (Cork), Eanna O’Hanlon (Cork), Ryan O’Donovan (Cork).

Subs: Sean Dore (Cork) for O’Hanlon, 45; Keith O’Driscoll (Cork) for Cooper. 50; David O’Connor (Cork) for O’Shea, 54; Jerome Kelleher (Cork) for Meehan, 57.

Seán McGoey

Image Credit: Kyran O’Brien