DCU Dóchas Éireann lose Sigerson semi

Seán McGoey

DCU Dóchas Éireann Sigerson team in huddle

UL 3-12 DCU Dóchas Éireann 0-12

UL knocked out DCU Dóchas Éireann from this year’s Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup following an impressive performance in Netwatch Dr. Cullen Park on Wednesday night.

Inspired by second half goals from Eoghan McLaughlin and Aaron Griffin, the Limerick side advanced to the final of the third level competition.

Paudie Hughes opened DCU’s account after neat play from Conor Corbett, however UL quickly replied through Aaron Griffin with Lorcan O’Dell responding only for John Hayes to level again.

Keelin McGann then kicked two very impressive points from play either side of a Griffin score.

Disaster then struck for DCU when UL’s Ciaran Downes was quick to intercept a sideline intended for David O’Hanlon and finish the ball to the empty DCU net.

Paul Keaney, Mark Lenehan and Daniel Walsh all got on the scoreboard for UL before halftime leaving them leading on a scoreline of 1-7 to 0-4 at the interval.

With the introduction of Oisín Gallen DCU had new impotence up front and the Donegal man inspired a fightback kicking three points followed by an outrageous score by Johnny McGroddy.

But that was as close as DCU got, Keaney tapped over a free and then Griffin finished neatly to the DCU net to leave five between the sides again.

Gallen attempted to rally his teammates with two more inspirational scores, before McGann added his
third of the night to bring the gap back to two again.

But UL weren’t to be caught with scores from Downes, a free from Paul Walsh and a magnificent counter attacking goal from McLaughlin guaranteeing the Limerick college’s safe passage to the Sigerson final as they attempt to right the wrongs of last year’s decider defeat. They will now meet UCC .

Scorers for UL: Ciaran Downes 1-3, Aaron Griffin 1-1, Eoghan McLaughlin 1-0, Paul Walsh 0-3 (0-1f), Paul Keaney 0-2 (0-2f), John Hayes 0-1, Daniel Walsh 0-1, Mark Lenehan 0-1 (0-1f).

Scorers for DCU Dóchas Éireann: Oisín Gallen 0-5 (0-1f), Keelin McGann 0-3, Lorcan O’Dell 0-2, Páraic Hughes 0-1, Johnny McGroddy 0-1.

UL: Conor Flaherty (Galway), Colm Moriarty (Kerry), Jack Glynn (Galway), Jack Coyne (Mayo), Darragh Cashman (Cork), Jack O’Brien (Offaly), Daniel Walsh (Clare), Eoghan McLaughlin (Mayo), Paul Keaney (Leitrim), Ciarán Downes (Clare), Ikem Ugweuru (Clare), Mark Lenehan (Cork), John Hayes (Limerick), Emmet McMahon (Clare), Aaron Griffin (Clare).

Subs: Sean McDonnell (Cork) for Hayes, 38; Brian McNamara (Clare) for Ugweuru, 42; Frank Irwin (Mayo) for Keaney, 49; Paul Walsh (Kerry) for McMahon, 52; Cian Glennon (Roscommon) for Lenehan, 52.

DCU Dóchas Éireann: David O’Hanlon (Dublin), Tomás Crean (Roscommon), Páraic Hughes (Wexford), Jamie Grant (Donegal) Alex Beirne, (Kildare), Seán Fitzgerald (Galway), PJ Masterson (Longford) Bill Carroll (Offaly), Kevin Quinn (Wicklow), Shane O’Donnell (Donegal), Lorcan O’Dell (Dublin), Keelin McGann (Longford), Jack Bryant (Offaly), Conor Corbett (Cork), Seán Jones (Monaghan)

Subs: Oisín Gallen (Donegal) for Bryant, 28; Johnny McGroddy (Donegal) for Jones, 28; Mark Cully (Kildare) for Masterson, HT; David Lacey (Dublin) for McGann, 59; Ross Ó Mearlaigh (Donegal) for Grant, 60.

Seán McGoey

Image credit: Kyran O’Brien